New & revised editions of all Anna Kronberg Books are being re-launched, until FINALLY the series continues with book 5!

The Lion’s Courtship – Oct 28, The Devil’s Grin – Nov 26, The Fall – Dec 24, The Journey – Jan 21, Silent Witnesses – Febr 25

The Lion’s Courtship


“…so well written it belongs aside Oliver Twist, Wuthering Heights and other classics.”
“I stayed up most of the night savouring this novel.”
“I loved it on so many levels. Every free minute between taking care of my young kids was spent engrossed in this series. An intelligent and exciting story line with amazing characters.”

Anna Kronberg lives in Victorian London’s worst rookery, offering medical treatment to prostitutes, vagrants, and criminals. To her, plugging holes and mopping up blood is normal. Stitching the slashed face of a young prostitute is not. Witnesses refuse to talk. The police can’t be bothered with yet another injured whore. But whispers are spreading about a man who pays well for a few harmless knife marks.

No one dares reveal the man’s identity. Only Garret O’Hare – a thief Anna barely knows – reluctantly agrees to help her investigate the assault.
But when the injured girl disappears, a veil of silence descends upon the slum. And Anna learns that she is no longer the hunter, but the hunted.

Warning: medical procedures, poverty, and prostitution are depicted without apology.

The Devil’s Grin

ANNA KRONBERG BOOK 2 – coming November 26

Best Sherlock Holmes Novel 2014 (German Sherlock Holmes Society)

“A duel of two deduction monsters.”

“…a powerful debut.”

London 1889. A dead man is found floating in the city’s waterworks. Fearing an epidemic, the Metropolitan Police call upon bacteriologist Dr Anton Kronberg to examine the body. All signs point toward cholera having killed the man…but for faint marks around wrists and ankles.

Evidence for a crime is weak, and the police lose interest in the case. But Kronberg suspects that the dead man’s final days had been steeped in cruelty. Soon, a second victim is found, and Kronberg gets embroiled in a web of abduction, abuse, and murder.

But catching a killer and staying alive would be easier if the doctor didn’t have secrets of…her own.

Warning: medical procedures are depicted without apology.

The Fall

ANNA KRONBERG BOOK 3 – coming December 24

“…dynamite! (…)  unparalleled in detective literature.” 

Eluding Scotland Yard and Sherlock Holmes, Anna Kronberg leads an inconspicuous life far from London. Until the day she wakes up to a gun pressed against her temple. With her father held hostage and no help in sight, Anna finds only one way out – to take her captor for a dance along the razor’s edge while delving into Britain’s tentative beginnings of espionage and systematic biological warfare.

The Journey

ANNA KRONBERG BOOK 4 – coming January 21

“I loved this whole series, outstanding!”

Pregnant with her enemy’s child and with an assassin following her every step, Anna Kronberg must hurry to find the true motivation behind Moriarty’s plan to use disease as a weapon. Bit by bit, she and Sherlock Holmes unravel a spiderweb of crime, espionage, and bioterrorism that spreads across continents.

Silent Witnesses

ANNA KRONBERG BOOK 5 – coming February 25

Only two people in this world know my name.

I am one.

The other is believed to be dead.

For pre-publication access, sign up at Anna’s SILENT WITNESSES webpage.

Blog Comments

Anna Kronberg Series. I am hooked!! Please give us another book to continue her story. I have read every book you have written and am so happy to find a “real” writer who makes one think.

Silent Witnesses (Anna Kronberg book 5) is in the making and you can read it here:
I’m glad you like the series, Sharon 🙂

I agree! Your books of the Anna Kronberg Series have keep my interest so that I have actually read them all twice! I am ready for another Anna Kronberg book!!

What is the title of the 4th book in the Anna Kronberg series

Prequel: The Lion’s Courtship
Book 1: The Devil’s Grin
Book 2: The Fall
Book 3: The Journey
Bundle of book 1,2, & 3: Moriarty
5th book: Silent Witnesses (working title). I plan to publish this in winter 2017, but you can get pre-publication access through my bookclub:

I love your Anna Kronberg character! i look forward to reading more about her!

Thank you, Deborah!

I also realize I purchased The Lion’s Courtship: Prequel to the Anna Kronberg Series and The Journey (Anna Kronberg Book 3)! Don’t know how I missed the Fall but It is on my list to purchase soon.

Are you going to add more books to this series?

I’m not sure, Pam. I started another book with Anna in Boston, but it’s far from being finished.

[…] The Devil’s Grin […]

[…] The Devil’s Grin […]

[…] The Devil’s Grin […]

Enjoyed the read – not sure how you can use Sherlock Holmes as a character – did you buy the rights? or are you related to Conan Doyle?

Hi Sarah, Holmes & Watson are in the public domain. Everyone can write them

[…] books include: The Devil’s Grin, The Fall, The Journey, Moriarty, The Lion’s Courtship and 1/2986, her first foray into […]

[…] The Devil’s Grin […]

[…] schreib mal was!” und begann mit ihrem ersten historischen Kriminalroman mit dem Titel “The Devil’s Grin” (dt. Teufelsgrinsen), welcher zuerst in den USA und später dann auch in Deutschland […]

Sehr geehrte Frau Dr. Wendeberg, habe auf Grund einer Rezension in der Welt Ihr Buch gekauft & in einem Stück verschlungen..
Begeisterung ist gar kein Ausdruck, es war nur viel zu kurz… Wann ist mit Bd.2 in deutsch zu rechnen? Ich finde, Sie schreiben auf einer Höhe mit
Trudy Canavan,Aileen P. Roberts ,Simon Becket und Kathy Reich. Vielen Dank für kurzweilige (Lese-) Stunden.

Dankeschön für das tolle Kompliment! Da bin ich ja ganz rot geworden 🙂
Alle 4 Kronberg Bücher werden (wahrscheinlich) auf deutsch im nächsten Jahr heraus kommen. Band 1 nochmal als Taschenbuch (kostet weniger) und Band zwei auch (beide im Frühjahr), sowie Band 3 und 4 im Herbst.

Leave a Reply